Help:Wikitechnicians

From Wikimini
Revision as of 16:50, 23 November 2018 by CharlieFierro (talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search

This page gathers useful instructions for wikitechnicians.

Introduction

wikitechnicians are experienced users who place their skills at the service of Wikimini's other users to perform some special technical operations :

  • delete pages
  • block users
  • protect pages
  • merge pages

They also assist wikimoderators in moderating the website.

Delete pages

When ?

Generally, an article should only be deleted if it has a wrong titre (for example : "The giraffe" instead of "Giraffe" – read Wikimini:New article for all the rules concerning titles).

Although, before deleting an article, wikitechnicians should always consider if he could not first do something else, for example retrieving and preserving its content :

  • rename the article with a similar title but in accordance with conventions (ex : "The giraffe" → "Giraffe")
  • merge the article with an existing about the exact same subject
  • move towards a new name better suited for the article's content.
  • split the article into multiple different articles using the special function "Duplicate" (ex : "My garden's plants" → "Mint", "Lavender", "Raspberry", etc.)
Bg-pin.gif Remark : If an article needs to be deleted and its content lost, it is important to leave a copy of the text to the author with a short (and nice) word of explaination.

The idea is to never waste valid content, and mostly to try to highlight wikiminauts' contributions as much as possible, especially new ones.

If a new article is created empty (or without any valid content), but it has a correct name, the wikitechnician doesn't delete said article. They can either add a special box Fckeditor-bandeau.gif available in the editor's toolbar or add themselves a short introduction, followed by "To be completed...".

Bg-pin.gif Particular situations : Articles about subjects considered as inappropriate for children (ex : pornography) need to be deleted whatever their title or content are.

How ?

  1. Go to the page you want to delete
  2. Click on the "Delete" link in the "Views" menu
  3. Indicate the reasons for deleting it, and confirm by clicking on the "Delete page" button
Bg-pin.gif Recommendation : Before deleting the page, you can still check if there are any articles with links towards the page you want to delete ("What links here" function in the "Tools" menu). If it is the case, it would be preferable to first edit those links (for example by making them lead to another article).

Block users

When ?

It is possible to block an user who would would behave in an inadequate manner on the website. The blocked user will then no longer be able to write in Wikimini. Wikitechnicians can choose how long the user will be blocked.

Usually, blocking an user should only be a last resort. Wikitechnicians and wikimoderators should rather favour talking to troublemakers so that they don't do it again.

How ?

To block, proceed in the following manner :

  1. Affichez la page personnelle de l'utilisateur en question
  2. Cliquez sur le lien « Bloquer l’utilisateur » du menu « Boîte à outils »
  3. Choisissez la durée du blocage et indiquez un motif

Il est généralement recommandé de cocher les deux options permettant d'empêcher la création de comptes et le blocage des adresses IP de l'utilisateur.

Protéger des pages

Quand ?

Il peut être nécessaire de protéger une page pour plusieurs raisons, la plus commune est lorsque la page subit plusieurs vandalismes dans un court laps de temps. On peut alors protéger la page pendant plusieurs jours afin de limiter le vandalisme.

Comment ?

À compléter...

Fusionner deux articles et leurs historiques

Quand ?

Il est possible de fusionner deux articles lorsqu'ils traitent exactement du même sujet mais avec un titre différent (doublons).

On procède à la fusion uniquement si chacun des deux articles contient des informations utiles pouvant compléter l'autre article. Dans le cas contraire, on peut se contenter de supprimer l'un des deux articles (généralement le plus récent et celui ayant le titre le moins adapté). Si on supprime un article, il est souhaitable d'en avertir l'auteur et de lui laisser une copie de son texte en l'invitant, par exemple, à compléter l'autre article.

Comment ?

Vous souhaitez fusionner deux pages P1 (titre obsolète) et P2 (titre à conserver) ainsi que leurs historiques vers une seule et même page finale.

Voici les différentes étapes :

  1. Réunissez les textes des deux articles pour en faire un seul texte au contenu cohérent
  2. Recopiez et publiez ce contenu dans p1 et dans p2 (les deux pages seront donc identiques)
  3. Renommez p1 en p2 (acceptez de supprimer p2)
  4. Restaurez p2 (toutes les versions)
  5. Supprimez p1 (qui est maintenant une page de redirection) si vous estimez que son titre n'est pas utile dans l'index.

La page finale devrait maintenant comporter le titre de la page P2, le contenu tel que vous l'aviez égalisé dans P1 et P2 lors de l'étape 1, ainsi qu'un historique fusionné de P1 et P2.

Scinder un article en deux articles différents

Quand ?

Si un article aborde trop de sujets différents, il est possible de le scinder (diviser) en deux articles différents.

Concrètement, l'opération consiste simplement à dupliquer l'article.

Comment ?

  1. Affichez l'article en question
  2. Cliquez sur la fonction « Dupliquer cette page » du menu « Boîte à outils »
  3. Entrez un titre pour la page de destination (nouvelle page qui sera une copie exacte de la page dupliquée)
  4. Cliquez sur le bouton « Dupliquer »

Vous obtenez alors deux articles identiques mais avec des titres différents. Il suffit maintenant de modifier indépendamment ces deux articles de sorte que chacun d'eux se concentre sur un sujet différent.

Voir aussi

Wikiboo Personal tools